Snap Road Trip: Chung Changing Lives Open Mic Night

Chung Changing Lives Open Mic Night 2014

You guys – I have a confession to make. I totally stayed out late out on a school night. (OK, technically it’s a “work night” since I’m not in school, but regardless, I knew I had to haul my butt out of bed early the next day and earn my paycheck. You get what I’m saying.)

Anyway, my work night escapades were totally for a good cause, as I attended Pat Chung’s Open Mic Night.

You may remember the post we did on Chung Changing Lives recently. If you missed it, you can check it out here. They hosted their first (hopefully) annual Open Mic Night at Showcase Live in Foxboro, MA, and it was ridiculously fun.

Proceeds went to Boston Children’s Hospital, the Dimmock Center, and towards Chung Changing Lives programs. (As cornerback Brandon Browner reminded us multiple times, “It’s all for the children!”)

Chung Changing Lives Open Mic Night

In no particular order, my favorite parts of the evening were:

– The live auction bidding, especially when a golf trip with Patrick Chung that had an opening bid of $500 went for $5,000. This was thanks to CB Brandon Browner and NT Vince Wilfork joining the trip and upping the bids. Very impressive.

– Pat Chung’s mom, Sophia George, singing her hit “Girlie Girlie.” She’s still got the moves.

– Santa Claus singing “Gin and Juice.”

– Everything Brandon Browner did.

– Everything Vince Wilfork did.

– The cupcakes.

– Oh, and this happening:

Chung Changing Lives Open Mic Night Pat and Cece Chung

A pic with the couple of the evening! Fun story behind this picture: The two lovely ladies that I hung out with during the night had ordered some food. Next thing we know, Pat Chung’s mother-in-law came over, apparently really hungry, and asked if she could have a bite. She brought Pat and Cece Chung over for the picture. They were both incredibly nice, shaking our hands and thanking us for coming. Later in the evening, Pat was walking around with the microphone getting people hyped up during the Cupid Shuffle and not only did I get to say “Hey” into the mic, I got a shoulder bump from Pat. This is probably because I was totally not paying attention when he came up to me and he more than likely felt bad for me because I looked super confused. (If you knew me, you would understand that these kind of things just happen to me.)

(I also have to say that the gorgeous Cecelia Chung comes from fantastic genes. I seriously thought her mother was her sister. Please tell me what beauty products you two use because I feel like aging isn’t an issue for you.)

Chung Changing Lives Open Mic Night Brandon Browner

Here are your superlatives for the night:

Best Host: Pat Chung – I swear he talked to most everyone in the room. He made the rounds and was clearly appreciative of everyone who showed up.

Best “All-In” Performer: Brandon Browner – You could not get this man off the stage. His performances were worth the price of admission. I think he really enjoys being a member of the Patriots.

Best Booty Dance: Sealver Siliga – When the Patriots wives/girlfriends did a number, Siliga wasn’t afraid to shake what his momma gave him.

Best Effort: Devin McCourty – You’ve gotta give Devin credit because he went for it. I say this in the nicest way possible – he probably shouldn’t quit his day job.

Best Off-the-Field Style: Dont’a Hightower – He definitely looked slick. Loved his glasses.

Best Fan Interaction: Chandler Jones & Stephen Gostkowski– They both took a lot of pics with fans and didn’t seem bothered when people asked.

Most Persuasive: Vince Wilfork – He must have been a salesperson in another life because he was pretty good at getting people to get out those checkbooks.

Much Taller in Person: Marcus Cannon – I guess this really isn’t a superlative, but I thought it was worth pointing out. When I came home, I double-checked his height and he’s definitely 6’5″.

I don’t always get a chance to attend players’ charity events because most of them are a little out of my price range, which is understandable since they are trying to raise funds for good causes. This was not the case with the Open Mic, though, as I felt like there were ways for everyone to contribute, no matter what their price point was.

I’ve always had a soft spot for Pat as a player because he’s the only Patriots draft pick that I’ve correctly guessed prior to the draft. (No one can usually predict what the Pats are going to do in the draft, so I was over the moon when they took this Oregon Duck in 2009.) I’m so glad that he’s back in New England and that he started up the great karaoke event tradition again.

Thanks for a great night Pat and Cece – giving back has never been such an entertaining experience! Can’t wait for next year!

-Michelle

2 thoughts on “Snap Road Trip: Chung Changing Lives Open Mic Night

  1. Pingback: Our Thoughts – 2014 NFL Week 15 Recap | The Snap

  2. Pingback: Chung Changing Lives Open Mic Karaoke Fundraiser 2015 | The Snap

Leave a Reply

