Snap Roadtrip: Patriots Super Bowl Send-Off

Do you believe in fate? I do.

When I saw that I had a work meeting scheduled 100 feet away from where the Pats were having their Super Bowl send-off rally, I knew it was a sign that I needed to make an appearance.

I’m like a moth to a flame when it comes to these kinds of events. Moth to a freakin’ flame.

Patriots Super Bowl Send-Off 2015

Boston Mayor Marty Walsh hosted a 45-minute send-off celebration featuring team owner Mr. Kraft, Coach Belichick, and the five Pats captains – Tom Brady, Matt Slater, Dan Connolly, Devin McCourtey, and Vince Wilfork. Former Pats tight end and Boston native Jermaine Wiggins also pumped up the crowd with a pep talk. The Patriots cheerleaders and drumline (apparently the Pats have one of those) also made an appearance.

My favorite part was probably hearing Coach Belichick speak. He got quite the cheer from the crowd and you kind of got the feeling that everyone standing in that plaza wanted him to momentarily forget about the hell that has been DeflateGate.

You can see video from the event here. I couldn’t find myself in the crowd, but you are more than welcome to play Where’s Waldo and look for me. (Hint: I probably look freezing cold even though I’m rocking a parka and numerous cold-weather accessories.)

Since it’s not really a New England event without an appearance by Dunkin’ Donuts, the coffee and donut chain was on-hand to provide free dark roast coffee and s’mores hot chocolate. Holy hot beverage – the s’mores hot chocolate was soooo good (they didn’t pay me to say that, it was just that yummy) and much needed with the single-digit wind chill bystanders were experiencing congregating in Government Center plaza.

Yeah, it was pretty cold out there, which is why it was awesome when I got a free Julian Edelman beanie from the Dunkin crew as well. The surprisingly high-quality hat has quickly become one of my favorites and I will be wearing it tomorrow as I finish digging out my car from 2+ feet of snow, thank you very much.

(Side note: All of my mid-Atlantic friends complaining about not getting any snow are more than welcome to come take some of ours. I could build life-size snowmen replicas of the entire Patriots defense using the snow in my front yard.)

So yeah, that’s how I spent my lunch break on Monday. Now that I finally have feeling back in my extremities, I would definitely say it was worth it.

– Michelle

Leave a Reply

